Miller, Nielsen, and Berger Win Final Three Live Bracelet Events At 2023 WSOP

Must read


The 2023 World Series of Poker is now officially in the books, with more than 244,000 entries made across 95 live and 20 online bracelet events. Those 115 tournaments collectively paid out more than $418.7 million in total prize money. The very final day of action inside the Horseshoe Las Vegas saw a few events play down to a champion. Below is a look at the results for the final three live events to wrap up at the series.

2023 WSOP $3,000 H.O.R.S.E.

Ryan MillerThe final non-hold’em bracelet of the summer was ultimately won by regular mixed-game player Ryan Miller. The Pennsylvania resident outlasted a 331-entry field in the $3,000 H.O.R.S.E. event to earn $208,460 and his second career gold bracelet.

Miller won his first bracelet just a few weeks earlier, topping a 141-player field in the $10,000 stud eight-or-better championship for $344,677. He now has more than $834,000 in career tournament earnings despite being primarily focused on the cash-game grind.

The top 50 finishers each earned a share of the $883,770 prize pool in this event. Other notables that ran deep included bracelet winner Andre Akkari (16th), bracelet winner Andrew Barber (14th), three-time bracelet winner and two-time World Poker Tour champion Chad Eveslage (12th), bracelet winner Diego Cordovez (10th), bracelet winner Nick Guagenti (9th), bracelet winner Todd Brunson (8th), four-time bracelet winner Kevin Gerhart (7th), three-time bracelet winner Barbara Enright (4th), and two-time bracelet winner Calvin Anderson (3rd).

Here is a look at the payouts and POY points awarded at the final table:

Place Player Earnings POY Points
1 Ryan Miller $208,460 720
2 Leonard August $128,835 600
3 Calvin Anderson $89,169 480
4 Barbara Enright $62,783 360
5 Andrew Yeh $44,983 300
6 Noah Bronstein $32,807 240
7 Kevin Gerhart $24,363 180
8 Todd Brunson $18,429 120

2023 WSOP $10,000 Short Deck Championship

Martin NielsenThe last championship event on the schedule for 2023 was the $10,000 short deck tournament. With 106 entries, the prize pool grew to $985,800.

The top 16 made the money in the end, with the Faroe Islander Martin Nielsen coming away with the title and the top prize of $270,160.

This was the first bracelet win for Nielsen, and his largest live tournament cash yet, topping the $167,790 he earned as the eighth-place finisher in the 2008 European Poker Tour Barcelona main event.

Big names that joined Nielsen in making the money included bracelet winner and high-stakes crusher Mikita Badziakouski (13th), five-time bracelet winner Adam Friedman (11th), two-time bracelet winner Martin Zamani (9th), two-time bracelet winner Sam Soverel (8th), two-time bracelet winner Chris Brewer (7th), five-time bracelet winner John Juanda (5th), and Eric Wasserson (4th).

Here is a look at the payouts and POY points awarded at the final table:

Place Player Earnings POY Points PGT Points
1 Martin Nielsen $270,160 600 271
2 Hongwei Yu $167,340 500 167
3 Ivan Ermin $118,037 400 118
4 Eric Wasserson $85,124 300 85
5 John Juanda $62,793 250 63
6 Nobuaki Sasaki $47,406 200 47
7 Chris Brewer $36,648 150 37

2023 WSOP 1,000 Super Turbo No-Limit Hold’em

Paul BergerThe final live event of the series was a race to the finish. A total of 1,482 entries were made in the $1,000 no-limit hold’em super turbo tournament, creating a $1,318,980 prize pool. It took roughly 12 hours to play down from that sea of entries to a champion.

When the dust settled it was Paul Berger who came away with the bracelet and the $212,645 top prize. Berger overcame three-time bracelet winner Yuri Dzivielevski heads-up, stopping the Brazilian tournament star just shy of a fourth win at the series.

Plenty of other accomplished tournament regulars made it down to the business end of this fast-paced affair, including six-time bracelet winner Daniel Negreanu (80th), four-time bracelet winner Ben Yu (45th), two-time bracelet winner Eric Froehlich (43rd), Blake Bohn (28th), and two-time bracelet winner Bryan Piccioli (11th).

Here is a look at the payouts and POY points awarded at the final table:

Place Player Earnings POY Points
1 Paul Berger $212,645 960
2 Yuri Dzivielevski $131,408 800
3 Santiago Plante $95,195 640
4 Miguel Cardoso $69,751 480
5 Michael Liang $51,700 400
6 Kafton Ramsamooj $38,769 320
7 Hong Cheong Lee $29,417 240
8 Alex Zhang $22,589 160
9 Tai Cao $17,556 80

Visit the Card Player 2023 World Series of Poker page for schedules, news, interviews, and the latest event results. WSOP coverage sponsored by Global Poker.

Photo credits: WSOP /Omar Sader, Hayley Hochstetler.





Source link

More articles

- Advertisement -spot_img

Latest article