Brian Rast Selected For 2023 Induction Into Poker Hall Of Fame

Must read


Brian Rast with Jack Effel credit: PokerNews / Megan HaneyAfter tallying the votes, Brian Rast joins the exclusive club of gamblers who have made it into the Poker Hall of Fame, becoming the 62nd member overall.

The announcement was made by the World Series of Poker, with the 41-year-old accepting the honor at the newly designated Hall of Fame Poker Room at the Horseshoe Casino prior to the start of the annual $1,979 buy-in Poker Hall of Fame bounty tournament.

“With a nearly 20-year-long career riddled with record-breaking wins and historic runs, Brian Rast is one of the best poker players we’ve ever seen,” said WSOP Vice President Jack Effel. “With the 2023 WSOP breaking records left and right, it only makes sense to put a record-setter himself amongst some of the greatest of all time. We are honored to induct Brian Rast into the Poker Hall of Fame and look forward to his successes to come.”

The Stanford dropout certainly has a deserving resume as a longtime high-stakes cash game winner who also has six WSOP bracelets, as well as numerous high roller titles, including the first-ever Super High Roller Bowl, which paid out a massive $7.5 million.

This summer, Rast got everyone’s attention by winning the prestigious $50,000 buy-in Poker Players Championship for a third time, joining Michael Mizrachi as the only players to do so. Rast has nearly $25 million in career earnings overall, which is good for 30th all time.

“I am very pleased to receive this recognition for the work I have put into my craft during my entire adult life,” Rast said. “I am deeply honored to be chosen.”

Rast spoke for ten minutes, thanking his family and friends for their support.

Poker Hall of Famers credit: PokerNews / Megan HaneyOther Hall of Famers who were in attendance included Jack McClelland, Scotty Nguyen, Mori Eskandani, Barbara Enright, Johnny Chan, Barry Greenstein, Todd Brunson, Berry Johnston, and Eli Elezra.

In order to be considered for the Poker Hall of Fame, a player must be a minimum of 40 years old and must have played high-stakes poker “against acknowledged top competition” while “standing the test of time” by playing consistently well and earning the respect of their peers. Or, for non-players, they must have “contributed to the overall growth of the game with indelible positive and lasting results.”

There are now 32 living members of the hall, which collectively vote each year from the list of nominees.

While Rast is certainly deserving of induction, the WSOP has received criticism in recent years for not increasing the number of inductees, while also eliminating the media vote.

Rast addressed the issue early in his speech, saying that he was going to push the other living voters to acknowledge the dozens of qualified individuals who are currently on the outside looking in.

“Now that I’m in, I have votes,” he said. “I’m going to do my duty to make sure the Hall gets the incoming generation right. There are a lot of amazing players in the poker world who deserve recognition for their careers.”

Rast beat out nine other finalists for the honor, many of whom have been waiting years for induction. The other nominees were Josh Arieh, Jeremy Ausmus, Ted Forrest, Kathy Liebert, Mike Matusow, broadcast duo Lon McEachern and Norman Chad, Matt Savage, Isai Scheinberg, and Bill Smith.

The Poker Hall of Fame

Name Inducted
Johnny Moss 1979
Nick “The Greek” Dandolos 1979
Felton “Corky” McCorquodale 1979
Red Winn 1979
Sid Wyman 1979
James Butler “Wild Bill” Hickok 1979
Edmond Hoyle 1979
Blondie Forbes 1980
Bill Boyd 1981
Tom Abdo 1982
Joe Bernstein 1983
Murph Harrold 1984
Red Hodges 1985
Henry Green 1986
Walter Clyde “Puggy” Pearson 1987
Doyle “Texas Dolly” Brunson 1988
Jack “Treetop” Straus 1988
Fred “Sarge” Ferris 1989
Benny Binion 1990
David “Chip” Reese 1991
Thomas “Amarillo Slim” Preston 1992
Jack Keller 1993
Julius Oral Popwell 1996
Roger Moore 1997
Stu “The Kid” Ungar 2001
Lyle Berman 2002
Johnny “The Orient Express” Chan 2002
Bobby “The Owl” Baldwin 2003
Berry Johnston 2004
Jack Binion 2005
Crandell Addington 2005
T.J. Cloutier 2006
Billy Baxter 2006
Barbara Enright 2007
Phil Hellmuth 2007
Dewey Tomko 2008
Henry Orenstein 2008
Mike Sexton 2009
Dan Harrington 2010
Erik Seidel 2010
Linda Johnson 2011
Barry Greenstein 2011
Eric Drache 2012
Bryan “Sailor” Roberts 2012
Scotty Nguyen 2013
Tom McEvoy 2013
Daniel Negreanu 2014
Jack McClelland 2014
Jennifer Harman 2015
John Juanda 2015
Carlos Mortensen 2016
Todd Brunson 2016
David “Devilfish” Ulliott 2017
Phil Ivey 2017
John Hennigan 2018
Mori Eskandani 2018
Chris Moneymaker 2019
David Oppenheim 2019
Huck Seed 2020
Eli Elezra 2021
Layne Flack 2022
Brian Rast 2023

You can follow the 2023 World Series of Poker on Card Player’s series landing page, brought to you by Global Poker. Check out the series schedule, as well as event recaps, news, and player interviews.





Source link

More articles

- Advertisement -spot_img

Latest article